Discover how to effectively manage Employee Journeys with the Journey Manager. Learn how to create, edit and set up Journeys for specific target groups. Ensure smooth onboarding and training by setting activation moments and notifications.
Employee Journeys are an optional functionality. Their availability depends on your organisation's Plek licence. Want to know whether Journeys are included in your licence? Have an administrator contact your account manager or email support.plek@bcs-hr.com.
The Journey Manager allows you to create, edit and manage Journeys. By default, access to the Journey Manager is limited to users with an admin role. More information about Journeys for end users can be found on this page.
Note: The ability to create new Journeys also depends on your platform licence.
To access the Journey Manager:
- Click on your profile picture (top right).
- Choose Journey Manager.
Journey Manager
In the Journey Manager overview, you can see all Journeys created for your organisation.
From here you can:
- Create a new Journey
- Quickly publish or unpublish an existing Journey
- Edit or delete a Journey
- View the results and progress of a Journey
Creating a new Journey
Step 1: Add a title, header image and description
The first step in creating a Journey is determining the tone and purpose, with a clear title, an optional header image and a brief description.
-
Title (1)
Give your Journey a clear and relevant title. This is the first thing users will see and should clearly convey the purpose of the Journey, such as Onboarding new employees or Compliance training 2025. Keep it short and recognisable. -
Description (optional)
Use the description (2) to briefly explain what the Journey is about, what users can expect and why it is important. This provides context. -
Header image (optional)
You can upload a header image (3) to make the Journey more visually appealing. This image is displayed to the left of the Journey.- Recommended format: JPG or PNG.
Step 2: Determine your target group
After setting the title and description, you determine who the Journey is intended for.
You can set the target group in various ways:
Based on Role (1)
Select one of the following roles:
- User – All internal users (users, content managers and admins)
- External user – Only external users
- Admin – Only users with an admin role
Based on Group (2)
- Select one or more groups within your platform.
- Choose whether you want to reach all group members, only group members with a role, or only group administrators (3).
Apply filter (3)
You can refine the target group with a filter:
- Click on + Add filter (4) and select a profile field (such as department, role or location).
- You can apply only one filter per Journey
- Make sure that the filter is identical to the value in the profile field (case-sensitive).
Optional: Anonymous results
- Turn this option on if you want to collect anonymous feedback (5).
- You will then see how many users have completed the Journey, but not who.
- ⚠️ This setting can no longer be adjusted after you have saved it.
Step 3: Set the activation time
The activation time determines when a Journey becomes visible to the target group. This way you can plan Journeys ahead, for example on the first working day of a new employee.
Set start date
Choose from the following options:
- On publication – Active immediately upon publication. Only current users will receive a notification.
- Set start date – Schedule a future start date. New users will see the Journey, but will not receive a notification.
- Start based on account creation – Ideal for onboarding. Users receive a notification based on their account creation date.
- Start based on account start date – For preboarding for customers with User Provisioning.
Set end date
We recommend always setting an end date (5). After this date, the Journey will no longer appear in My Journey for the user.
Example 1:
I want to send out a survey via Journeys, aimed at all users. Starts on 1 May, ends on 1 June.
Settings:
- Start date: 1 May
- End date: 31 days after start
Example 2:
I want to start an onboarding Journey for new employees.
This must start immediately after the account is created. Existing employees should not see the Journey.
Settings:
- Start date: 0 days after account creation
- End date: 30 days after start date
Step 4: Set notifications
Notifications make sure that users know they need to go through a Journey.
Choose one of the following options:
Normal (1)
- Visible via the rocket icon
- Visible at Start of the day in the mobile app
High (2)
Same as Normal, plus:
- Push notification and email
- Reminders at the start, three days before the end date, and on the end date
Urgent (3)
Same as High, plus:
- Full screen pop-up upon login
- Journey can be reopened via My Journey
Mandatory (4)
Same as Urgent, but:
- Pop-up can only be closed once the Journey has been completed
Save settings
Save your settings. You can now add steps to your Employee Journey.
Edit, copy or delete Journey
Through the Journey Manager you can edit, copy or delete Journeys.
- Click on the pencil next to the Journey
- All steps are displayed
- Edit steps: click on the pencil icon (1)
- Edit settings: click on the button on the right (2)
- Copy Journey: click on the copy button on the right – a Journey will be created with the title [Journey title] (copy), for example Welcome to your platform (clone)
- Delete Journey: go to settings (see point 2) – button is at the bottom left
Adding a step to your Journey
With Employee Journeys you can add various types of content to guide the user:
You can:
- Refer to important pages or documents on the platform
- Ask for feedback via a form
- Help users complete their profile
Click on + new step to add a new step. Each step can contain:
- A header image (1)
- A mandatory title (2)
- Text (3)
- An action, link or form (4)
- Preview: click on Preview at the top right (5)
Suggesting groups
To help a user prepare for your platform, you can suggest a number of groups they can join.
- Select Join groups
- Choose the groups
- If you leave this empty, the step will display the open groups
Selecting language
If your organisation supports multiple languages, you can include a step that allows users to select their preferred language.
Please note that changing the language only affects the user interface and not the content. When changing the language, the content is not translated.
Filling in profile field
Profile fields help users find each other more easily on the platform. With these fields, users can enter specific information about themselves, such as their department, role, location or other relevant details.
- Choose Fill in profile field
- You can use only one profile field per step
- Only editable profile fields are available
- Tick the mandatory checkbox (1) to make a profile field mandatory. This means that a user must fill in the profile field before proceeding to the next Journey step.
Uploading profile picture
A profile picture helps users find each other on the platform. By adding this step to a Journey, you can help users be ready for the platform.
- Choose Upload profile picture
- Optional (not mandatory)
- Recommended aspect ratio 1:1 (can be cropped)
Refer to a document
You can add an important document to your Journey step so that users can read it. By including an important document in your step in the journey, users can access and read essential information that is crucial for their understanding and progress within the journey.
- Make sure the document has been uploaded in the Documents module
- Select + Document
- Find the document via dropdown (1)
- If your organisation integrates with Google Drive or Sharepoint, tick the checkbox (2) to search for documents in these external sources.
- You can add a read confirmation to your document (3). Readers must open the document and tick a read confirmation to proceed to the next step.
Refer to an info page
You can add an important document to your Journey step so that users can read it. By including an important document in your step in the journey, users can access and read essential information that is crucial for their understanding and progress within the journey.
- Select + Page
- Find the info page (1)
- Add a read confirmation (2)
Collecting feedback with a form
You can use a form to collect feedback or input, for example during onboarding or for a short quiz.
- Select + Form
- Choose New form or Duplicate existing form
- More info? Consult our help articles about forms
Tip! Use the preview mode to see how a step will look.
Publishing or unpublishing your Journey
Once your Journey is ready, you can publish it:
Two ways:
- Via toggle in the Journey overview: flip the switch (1)
- Via Publish button in the Journey step view: click on Edit and then on Publish (2) at the top right
Need help setting up a Journey or need advice?
Feel free to contact our support team via support.plek@bcs-hr.com.